Krewe de Vieux this Weekend!

The Mardi Gras spirit. A day (days) to just be in the moment, outside of your usual surroundings, roles, and routines. It’s what you wish it to be. There’s debauchery if you want it, satire and wit, play and fantasy. You can have your friends and family too, but outside mixing it with everyone else; cheering the best costumes and vying for throws. Before I started living in New Orleans I had never thought to do such a thing- take a day to frolic, see and be seen and laugh and play and drink all day- with everybody in town. Now, I don’t know how we’ll adapt once we’ve gone on to the next place.  I think we’ll have to devise a way to bring it with us.

 

The Krewe de Vieux parade is this weekend and we will have two sets of awesome friends from the past in town for it.  I can’t wait!

Krewe de Vieux 2012

Krewe de Vieux 2012

