Eunice, LA

Eunice, LA

My schedule’s a little tight. I make a sad face as I whiz past weird road stops, little local museums and antique shops. Sometimes I pretend I have those cool Google glasses and could take instant pictures of things as I drive. (I applied for project glass, ummm, how did an archaeologist living in New Orleans not make the list, huh, Google?)Anyway, I made the time to stop for this one and, of course, it was lovely. The Cajun French Music Hall of Fame, check it out. My favorite, the setups they had for amplifying music using a car battery. I had so much fun talking with the lovely people inside that I actually forgot to take a pic, until I got in my car. Hence the bad, quicky, cellphone shot.

Later that day, in another town I asked my usual questions of the landowners before I set out to work, “Have you ever found anything on the ground out here?” “Oh no,” they said. “Nothing out here at all” I then proceed to walk out and immediately start picking up colorfully decorated turn-of-the-century pottery fragments, just sitting on top of the ground. (In all likelihood, they probably only tend that area of land in a vehicle. Funny day though.

Next time, I’m stopping at one of the accordion stores I passed.

